Close

Account

Documentation

Forum

Menu

Best option for what I need (Gallery vs Portfolio)

waynerd
    June 29, 2014 at 3:24 am #862

Hey guys, I’m new to the whole gallery portfolio thing especially in your theme. I just want your recommendation on which way to go for the below scenario.

Photography website with the option to order a print.

– I have many different categories.
    – I need to create a main page with a masonry (gallery or portfolio) that contains only photos in one category for EACH category.
    – Then from each first page the thumbnails in the masonry section are clickable to a single page with the large version of the photo and the details and options for buying/ordering.

Which is the best option to obtain this?

• This topic was modified 3 years, 5 months ago by  waynerd.
    • This topic was modified 3 years, 5 months ago by  waynerd.
    Jegbagus
    June 29, 2014 at 10:31 am #868

hi waynerd, if you are only going to sell photo on your website, i will recommend you to use shop page only that you able to generate using woocommerce. something like this : http://jkreativ.jegtheme.com/flat/product/beer-brochure-template/

but you can also use our portfolio (as masonry for listing) and side content for single page, and on content of those side content portfolio, you can add button to linked to your shop page.
    example : http://jkreativ.jegtheme.com/photography/portfolio/reading-in-library/ and give button to your single shop page.

Thank you

waynerd
    June 29, 2014 at 5:33 pm #874

Am I able to make 8 different masonry “shop” pages though?

I have 8 or more different categories of photos, these need to all be on their own separate pages like this:http://jkreativ.jegtheme.com/architecture/project/

Then, when a photo is clicked it takes the user to a “product” page like this one: http://jkreativ.jegtheme.com/bike/product/colossium-dhx-team/