In this case if you already using child theme as i know your changes won’t lost when you’re going to update our themes.
Except if you put your changes on parent theme file, it will gone. In this case you can make a backup file for your old themes file. Maybe you can rename the old themes then upload the new version of themes.
Let us know if you have further question on this thing.